Flash fiction: Flowers for Her


The sunflowers drooped as the rain dripped down. The day was gray, overcast and sad, not anything like I had planned. I stood there, staring down, wondering where it all went wrong.

Yesterday she told me to meet her and to bring them with me. That she had something important to tell me, something that would change our lives forever. Well my life has changed, as has hers. Changed forever, in a split second.

She had been waiting for me, that is what they told me. Sitting on the hood of her car, basking in the early morning sunshine, when the truck came over the hill. They tell me the driver had a medical emergency, that there was nothing that could have stopped what happened, but that doesn’t make it any better.

Bending down, I place the sunflowers on that place where we should have met. At the side of the road by the mountain overlook. These flowers were meant for her, and so I leave them here, in her memory.

Leave a Reply

