So what is this tale really?


In discussions all over the writerverse one thing we all try to figure out is just where our stories fit in the size category.  See there are a lot of publications looking for certain sizes of work.  This has been a very confusing thing for me because as any of you who has read my work you know I write stories of all kinds of lengths.  So just what type of writer does that make me?

Well when a writer who is part of a serious organization brought up (the SFWA for those who want to know) Here are what the guidelines for size of your tales are.

The Science Fiction Writers of America uses these definitions for it’s Nebula awards, and most people consider them to be pretty standard:

Short fiction: under 7,500 words
Novelette: 7,500-17,500 words
Novella: 17,500-40,000 words
Novel: 40,000 words and up

Shorter stories use different techniques, and have different kinds of subjects, so the Short Mystery Fiction Society subdivides the shortest categories further for their Derringer Awards:

Flash story: up to 1000 words
Short short story: 1001 – 4000 words
Long short story: 4001-8000 words
Novelette: 8001-17,500 words

Now I broke down the Flash fiction a little bit more.  As there are these little fiction things called drabbles which are 100 words…there for another category, one that I have played with a lot.

So going through all my finished stories I came up with a total of 94 stories that have either been published or will soon be.  Yes I have less titles up because I pulled out the stories from the collections and did them separately. 

A majority of my tale come out in the short short story category with 51 titles so far.  the rest are as follows:

Epic     1

Novels  4

Novellas 4

Novelettes 7

long short stories 17

flash fiction 9

and to round out everything I have drabbles 46

So you can see I have done a lot of writing over the past two years.  If you add together the 94 tales to the 46 drabbles you have 140 pieces of fiction that I have written or finished up in two years.  This of course is not counting all the poetry I have done.  I have no idea if I will keep up this crazy level of work or not but at least by seeing the size i write in it is understandable how I came to have so many out there for the reader to find and enjoy.

Hopefully I will come to an agreement with my two publishers to take the 17 stories they have and put them out separately.  I seem to have better luck finding readers for singles than for collections….we will see.

Leave a Reply

