Old stories can become new


Since I finished up Hope Everlasting I decided to pull out some of my older works and look them over.  Having over 30 years worth of story files from so many different word editors makes it interesting.  First you have to find a way of opening some of those files.  Then you have to go through and reformat it so you can read it.  Then you read through and realize that while the story is worth saving you just might have to lose more than half of what you wrote!  Battle of the Star Beast is my current example.  I spent most of yesterday just getting it open and reading it through.  The basic story is still good.  Considering that I am still getting begging emails from people after ten years of not working on that one it is funny.  I only had one chapter as a doc file.  The rest of it was in htm…which made getting all those little tags out important.

Once I finished that it was time to read through.  Okay I know where I was going, what I planned on but damn if I didn’t get caught up in a few cliches writing that one.  Course in my defense I started that story before my oldest had even hit preschool.  She’s a senior at UNH now.  Bit of it I will admit is great.  The whole bits were there is a memory exchange between the hero and heroine is actually good.  But other parts, ouch really just ouch.  It is forty pages of serious editing and rewriting that needs to be done before I move along to the rest of the story.  Okay it is one that I probably bit off more than I could chew.  After all I have devolved into I hope a fine short story author.  This will not be a short story.  This will be a three book novel set.  More than I usually do.

Now I probably wont work on this one exclusively.  Just not how I write.  I have to bop between one tale to the next.  If I get stuck, I pick up another tale and work on it.  Something different to get me fresh.  I could work on the other tales in the Nashua’s Guardians collection.  Nashua’s Guardians?  I am not sure that will be the final title of the collection but it works for a working title.  After all I have Jackson’s story started and four other stories that don’t directly involve Harry or Jackson yet.  Not saying,they won’t.  After all you can’t have things that go bump in the night in Nashua not have either the physic cop or the Guardian come a calling right?

But I thought it was time to get back to my science fiction stories for a bit.  Along with Star Beast I have one called the Price of Freedom.  Furry aliens with odd powers, a intergalactic police man, a villain out to control a dying race’s resources, love, hate, talking space ships, just plain fun.  But harder to write well I think.

Yeah I am babbling this morning.  I should probably take this over to my other blogs and babble about new video ideas but this is my writing blog right?  I came across an idea to use my poetry and photos together in short music videos.  I am following a guy on Youtube who is doing that and it gave me a ton of little fun ideas.  So we will see.

Leave a Reply

